Moving On From @BigDogsBrewing!

Hello fellow heroes!

The big news of the day is that as of last Friday afternoon, I am no longer with Big Dog’s Brewing Company. I wish my former employer all the best and look forward to collaborating with them in the future. I plan to stay heavily involved in the local beer scene so stay tuned for what I get into next!

I will certainly miss taking pictures like these:

saison

thirsty dog

I also want to extend my gratitude to Kurt Wiesner, Sergio Meza, Nick Tribulato, Dave Otto, my buddy Sam & the entire Big Dog’s Draft House staff. It was a fun 8 months where I learned a lot and I will forever be grateful for the opportunity.

The especially good news from all of this is not only that I’m quite confident in many of my brewery-related skills now, but that I can start trying to win homebrew awards again! I also look forward to getting more involved with my homebrewing brothers and sisters at SNAFU again!

I’ll be brewing 3 more Helles recipes over the next week or so and that will bring my total Helles count to 5. I might have to lager a couple of them in kegs just to get everything to fit in my freezer. I’ll be playing around and testing the limits of the style to a certain extent (I think). I’m doing one with only Pilsner malt & Honey malt and another with half a pound of rye. I’ll also try small bittering additions with hops like Citra & Galaxy (instead of the usual German hops) to see what effects that might have. I doubt they’ll all come out competition-worthy, but they’ll certainly be nice to have on my kegerator!

Alright, I’m off to get my kettle and a couple carboys cleaned up! Be well my brewing brothers and sisters!

2 thoughts on “Moving On From @BigDogsBrewing!

Leave a Reply

